IIIT- Naya Raipur organises Campus Round of International Competition Hult Prize 2021

IIIT Naya Raipur

On-Campus round of the international competition “Hult Prize 2021”, was organised at International Institute of Information Technology (IIIT) Naya Raipur, on November 7.

The prize is participation between Hult International Business School and the United Nations Foundation, in which former US President, Bill Clinton selects the challenge topic and announces the winner each September. HULT PRIZE is an international competition which encourages young generations to step up and take responsibility and generate new ideas and win prize money of US$ 1,000,000 for a global start-up.

Teams from all around the world, compete with their innovative ideas and start-ups against each other in various rounds, to win the prize money. The Hult Prize is referred to as the “ Nobel Prize for Students” by Nobel-laureate Muhammad Yunus. This edition’s challenge is “Food for Good: Transforming Food into a Vehicle of Change”.

In this Inaugural address, Dr Pradeep Kumar Sinha, Vice-Chancellor & Director, IIIT-NR said that IIIT-NR in these evolving times is motivating its students to solve today’s social problems with innovative solutions for which IIIT-NR is committed.

Team Alpha emerged as the winners of the competition, followed by Team Innovation Geeks which grabbed the runner-up position. Team Alpha addressed the problem of food that is wasted because of irregular shapes and sizes and proposed a feasible solution to tackle the issues in a systematic manner. The members of Team Alpha are Anmol Sharma, Gourav Chowdhary, Vidhi Sharma and Navya Agrawal.

Team Innovation Geeks addressed the problem of small scale food producers and proposed a ground-breaking system that incorporates beautifully crafted software solutions. The Members of the team are Chirag Samal, Prince Yadav and Kunal Mishra.

The Competition was judged by Pratekk Agarwaal, Angel Investor & Start-up Advisor and Ex-Chief Business Officer- BharatPe, Mohit Kapoor, Vice President, Marketing, at Jio and Mentor at JioGenNext and Gaurav Gandhi Member of Corporate Co-Innovation team TCS. The winning team will now go into regional rounds, where they compete against teams all around the globe. The competition was organised by Abhay Bagh, Campus Director of Hult Prize at IIIT -NR.