Task Force on Artificial Intelligence for Economic Transformation

Nirmala Sitharaman AI for India’s Economic Transformation,

Commerce and Industry Minister Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman has constituted a Task Force on Artificial Intelligence (AI) for India’s Economic Transformation. The Minister said with rapid development in the fields of information technology and hardware, the world is about to witness a fourth industrial revolution.  She said driven by the power of big data, high computing capacity, artificial intelligence, and analytics, Industry 4.0 aims to digitize the manufacturing sector. Smt. Sitharaman said the panel will comprise of experts, academics, researchers and industry leaders and will explore possibilities to leverage AI for development across various fields.

The task force will submit concrete and implementable recommendations for government, industry and research institutions.

The task force will have the  following members

1. Dr. V. Kamakoti, IIT Madras Chairperson
2. Mr. Anuj Kapuria, High Tech RoboticSystemz Ltd. Member
3. Dr. Anurag Agarwal, Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology, CSIR Member
4. Dr. Ashish Dutta, IIT Kanpur Member
5. Ms. Ashwini Asokan, Mad Street Den, Chennai Member
6. Mr. Gautam Shroff, Vice President & Chief Scientist, TCS Innovation Labs, Tata Consultancy Services, Gurgaon Member
7. Mr. G. H. Rao, HCL Technology Member
8. Mr. G. Madhusudan, IIT Madras Member
9. Mr. G. V. N. Apparao, Ex-Chief Technology Officer (CTO), Cognizant Member
10. Ms. Komal Sharma Talwar, Founder, XLPAT Member
11. Mr. Kunal Nandwani, Founder & CEO, uTrade Solutions Member
12. Dr. Shantanu Chaudhary, IIT Delhi, Department of Electrical Engineering Member
13. Mr. Vijay Kumar Sankarapu, Founder & CEO, Arya.in Member
14. Mr. Ajay Kumar, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Electronics & IT Member
15. Mr. Amandeep Gill, Ambassador/PR to CD, Geneva Member
16. Mr. K. Nagaraj Naidu, Joint Secretary (ITPO), Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance Member
17. Dr. Aloke Mukherjee, DRDO Member
18. Mr. Ravinder, Joint Secretary, DIPP, Ministry of Commerce & Industry Convenor


In addition to regular members, official participation from the following organizations shall also be requested:

  1. NITI Aayog,
  2. Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
  3. Department of Science & Technology
  4. UIDAI
  5. DRDO.


About Neel Achary 18687 Articles
Neel Achary is the editor of Business News This Week. He has been covering all the business stories, economy, and corporate stories.